Lawmakers who resigned win re-election


Resigned lawmakers and Civic Party leader Audrey Eu celebrate after by-election victory. Photo: Reuters
All five legislators who resigned to trigger yesterday's by-elections have been re-elected as widely predicted.

Civic Party lawmakers Tanya Chan and Alan Leong, as well as League of Social Democrats Leung Kwok-hung, Wong Yuk-man, and Albert Chan won by wide margins. The five quit in January to trigger the polls, which they promoted as a de facto referendum on full democracy.

There was a low turnout in the controversial by-elections. About 579,000 registered electors cast their votes representing a turnout rate of about 17.1 percent.

Pro-democracy groups blamed the low turnout on the boycott by rivals and senior officials including Chief Executive, Donald Tsang, who called the electoral exercise a waste of public money. But they still said it represented a substantive call for full democracy.

The Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs, Stephen Lam, said the community should now focus on dealing with the government's political reform package. He rejected suggestions that the administration should be held responsible for the low voter turnout.

Print News Send to a friend